03
Nov
10

Mazda 2’s on Steroids

As I sit here rocking out to copious amounts of Katy Perry and A Day to Remember, I am wondering what to post for tomorrow, well today.  I could scour the prodigious expanse of my hard drive for something or search the interwebs for hours on end.  I do both quite a bit though, I need friends 😦 .  So here I am, sitting here and wondering how to become a reality TV star, when something happens.  The interwebs alerts me to the existence of something so amazing that I nearly drop my tea.  My imaginary tea.  My imaginary winter spice tea.  It could have been so good.  Jerks.

It went like this: I was just sitting down to write the next post and really did not have a damn thing in mind and then I head over to one of my normal forum haunts and this is the second thread on the queue.  Just like that.  Plus the tea.

Holy Balls.

Holy Balls.  Holy Balls.

Holy Balls.  Holy Balls.  Holy Balls.

Alright. so I think you can understand my astonishment and severe lack of any self-control right now (seriously, I would have totally dropped that imaginary tea).  So I decide that I need more, I need to know more!  I head over the most likely source for something like this, AutoBlog.  They always have the good shit.

And AutoBlog had the good shit, some seriously good shit.  Better shit than I had imagined.  Like, mad good shit yo.  Okay, enough of the good shit.  Stop it.

This monster is called a “Mazda 2 Evil Track” and it sure as hell looks like it lives up to its namesake.  This car would make Ferrari’s pee themselves and Corvettes run head-long into brick.  I love it!

Mazda brought this along with a bunch of track prepped and street prepped vehicles to SEMA this year (I will be posting more on SEMA in coming days/weeks).

I am just going to quote the press release here because it gives you all the info you need to know about this hellion.

LAS VEGAS, Nov. 2, 2010 – Mazda’s product lineup of sedans, sports cars and crossovers offers consumers and exciting choice for their transportation needs; a choice that offers the Soul of a Sports Car in every vehicle. Showcasing the depth and breadth of the brand, Mazda will display a slew of products, each one demonstrating Mazda’s aftermarket capability and potential.

“The versatility of Mazda vehicles is extraordinary. With just minor modifications to a stock Mazda, it can be ready for the track or a car show,” said Derek Jenkins, director design, MNAO. “Our SEMA cars demonstrate this ability; taking a vehicle from the dealership and making it a truly unique piece.”

The newest member to the product lineup is the MAZDA2. With great styling, superb fuel economy and an affordable price tag, the 2011 MAZDA2 subcompact sedan is Zoom-Zoom in its most concentrated form. MAZDA2 is a car that only the engineers at Mazda could have created. It was designed and engineered from scratch to be a pure Mazda, offering the sort of driving experience that could only come from the company that developed the timeless MX-5 two-seat roadster, and it brings a combination of athletic design and dynamic performance to the subcompact class. Mazda Design Americas took two MAZDA2s and created a street car and a track car.

MAZDA Evil Track
The MAZDA2 Evil Track car was envisioned as a fully equipped car for series racing, and all required safety equipment to meet SCCA and NASA competition regulations. This iteration was inspired by the MAZDA2 Evil concept which debuted at the Los Angeles Auto Show in 2009. The MAZDA2 Evil Track car has an enhanced motorsport aesthetic achieved through Mazda race-inspired graphics and colors.

MAZDA2 Evil Track car is equipped with a Mazda Design aero body kit, including side skirts, front and rear air-dam and carbon fiber rear deck spoiler. Modifications include H&R race suspension and coil over kit, AWR full custom safety cage, Sparco Circuit pro seat, steering wheel, safety harness and fire system, AIM MXL Pista data acquisition system, race-tuned Magna-flow exhaust, 949 6UL 15×9 lightweight wheels and 225/45/15 Hoosier race tires.

I really like what I see there.  This a fully track prepped and spec’d out ride.  Imagine if this thing makes it into any scope of production?  If I had the money, I’d be predisposed to pick one up right away.  Seriously. I am sure that you noticed the street car that is also mentioned in there.  Of course you did, you are OMGP readers for goodness sake.  You guys know your business.  Maybe.

This is the “Mazda 2 Street” and I must say that I am very much in love with this pseudo-beast.  I could do without that awkward two-tone, but I can let that slide because it looks so damn happy.

Here is the “Mazda 2 Street” info from Mazda:

MAZDA2 Street
The Mazda2 Street is a streetwise, urban sport inspired version of the highly successful Mazda2.

This new tougher street version is reinforced visually by using smaller diameter light weight 949 6UL 15×9 wheels and wide profile Toyo Proxes RA-1 R-compound tires. The aesthetic enhanced through the use of a light gray, superfine metallic body color and matte graphic accents.

 

My only gripe about this whole situation, I wish these could have been the two door Mazda 2’s.  They look much sexier, but sadly the States does not get them.  Damn you Europeans and your fantastic assortment of automobiles!  *sad face*

Go to AutoBlog and check out more about this whole line of track beasts that Mazda has trucked to SEMA ’10.  I will be keeping a close eye on this!

Pics & Info: AutoBlog, TCL


13 Responses to “Mazda 2’s on Steroids”


  1. 11/03/2010 at 12:47 PM

    It looks very agressive

  2. 2 Matt
    11/03/2010 at 5:50 PM

    I saw those on autoblog today. Amazing cars.

    (That interior shot you posted is one of the MX-5’s)

  3. 4 kevin
    11/04/2010 at 12:21 PM

    These mazda 2s are like the perfect little car to zip around town, they look fantastic. P.s. ADTR is awesome

    • 5 BrownBear
      11/05/2010 at 11:17 AM

      ADTR is BEYOND awesome. New album in a couple weeks!! I am excite!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      I was disapointed when they delayed it, but that just means I want a copy even more.

  4. 11/05/2010 at 9:04 AM

    Hrmmmmm. Might be time to get a new ride…

    I bet it even gets better gas mileage than my subbie…

    • 7 BrownBear
      11/05/2010 at 11:16 AM

      Do it, DO it, DO It, DO IT.

      But I’m not trying to persuade you or anything Boost. Not at all…

  5. 8 Birry
    11/05/2010 at 11:07 AM

    Holy balls is right. These are sick-nasty!

  6. 11/06/2010 at 11:59 AM

    When I saw the 2’s at SEMA I knew you would be into them

  7. 11/14/2010 at 1:54 PM

    We’re glad that you like the concepts! Thanks for sharing. We appreciate it.

  8. 11/19/2010 at 8:45 PM

    Very cool! I look forward to when these start showing up at track events. This one looks sick!

  9. 12 Tanner H
    11/22/2010 at 10:20 PM

    Looks like a Peugeot 206 to me


Leave a comment


November 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930