18
Mar
10

Tall wagons you say…

I was doing my usual perusing of my favourite sites when I went to Andy’s Sub Compact Culture.  He posted up a pic of these two tall wagons that I had actually only seen like twice before.  In high school my friend’s parents had a white Eagle Summit.  Back then all I saw it as was a pile of crapola.  Seriously.  That thing was a mess and we made fun of it.  Of course we used to make fun of my parent’s Previa, calling it a giant bubble or the egg.  Although I still loved the damn thing.

Back then I can literally say I saw no potential in that Eagle Summit.  It could be because it had a funky smell to it and I didn’t really like to ride in that thing (sorry Eddie, haha).  I was pleasantly surprised when i saw that pictures on Andy’s blog.  I had never seen a Mitsubishi Expo LRV/Eagle Summit Wagon/Plymouth Colt Vista with any modification aside from body damage.  I had to dive deeper!

These little tall wagons just look so damn cool. 

Well if you haven’t figured it out, I don’t know jack shit about these little cars outside of their owners are doing a fantastic job of making them look damn good.

Reading the thread, it appears that the owners are twins that bought these two rides to have some fun with.  Cool story so far, I think so…

Go to Sub Compact Culture to read more and check out the thread.  Andy and these owners know a shit ton more than I do about these, go get your knowledge on peoples!


7 Responses to “Tall wagons you say…”


  1. 03/19/2010 at 6:38 PM

    I know that some of them had 2.4L SOHC 4G64 engines that can easily be turbo’ed just the way they are or you could very easily go balls out crazy and swap on a DOHC 4G63 head (all you need to do are bore the head stud holes out slightly and use all DOHC 4G63 timing components) and you are popping off like a rock star and ready for some boost. It’s basically a 2.4 liter 4G63 at that point. The manual transmissions are very similar to an eclipse/talon trans as well, meaning they don’t shift worth a shit! But the clutch, throw out bearing, and pressure plate are all the same so you could upgrade just the same if you would boost it… Just saying…

  2. 03/19/2010 at 6:45 PM

    DAMN IT! Asia got the Mitsubishi version which had the entire Galant VR-4 AWD drive-train and used the straight up 6 bolt 4G63 turbo which was detuned to 170 horsepower… Now that thing would have been super cool!

  3. 5 HellaIV
    03/25/2010 at 10:23 PM

    Just curious, what type of suspension is on these things. Back in the day, I had one that I always wanted to dump but couldn’t find what to run.


Leave a comment


March 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031