06
May
11

OMGP’s NYIAS Experience: Part Deux

My apologies for not getting a post up yesterday.  My day was monopolized much more so than I had anticipated so I didn’t actually get home to quite late.  Good news though!

I don’t really have good news, I was hoping to think of something, but nothing happened in my noggin in time.  So, onwards!!!!

I shall start with something a little extravagant, Porsche.

The new Cayennes actually look . . . decent.  Hmm.  I really did not like these when they first came out.  I always thought they looked like a 911 had relations with an Silverado and a H2 and their sperm somehow combined in a  Weird Science sort of moment and out came the bulbous in places and obese in others, Cayenne.  But I really like the lines of the new one.  It’s the large child from the 911 family.  Not the fat kid, but the one that could be a fullback in college but never makes it.

1,000,000 likes GT car.  Anyone actually have their name on here?

Carrera GTS.  I would do so many nasty things to you.  So many . . .

Utilitarian Porsches?  I like where this is headed.  I like it indeed!

I am guessing this is going along with Porsches new ad campaign where they try and show ridiculous Porsches as everyday vehicles.  I can’t say I do not enjoy it.  Why not pick your kids up from school in a GT3 RS.  The roll bars in the back are great for strapping kids to!

I was a little annoyed after I saw this car.  Why?  Well because I saw it and immediately threw an old woman aside to get to it, thinking that this was the illustrious Sport Classic.

But alas, it is just a Targa 4S with the same wheels from the Sport Classic.  Bullocks!  It is till a nice vehicle, but it is no Sport Classic.  :(

From one car that annoyed me to one that I was meh about.

Saab, where have you gone?  What are you doing with your lives?  What the hell happened to your gorgeous wagons?  Where did they go?

Where are they Saab?  Where?!?!

If I look at this thing from the rear wheelwell back, it looks quite nice and you would think, “Herm, this should be a nice ride, no?”  Then you pan forward and your face goes limp.  You turn around and walk away in despair.

Want to know how to build a very nice wagon Saab?  Take a cue from Acura.

They finally brought over their Accord Wagon to the States and oh boy, I loves it!  Very well styled and very good looking.  While so many companies are dropping their wagon platforms, Honda had the balls to bring in one to a brand that has never had one before.  I definitely respect that.

I really hope people buy this because it looks like a great vehicle.  Keep the wagons alive!!!

*Vast departure from previous topics alert*

Sebastian Vettel’s F1 car.  Infiniti sponsored, Renault powered.

I bet you most people at the show knew nothing about it or even noticed it.

Mini next?  Yes please!

Onwards!

It is a pretty well-known fact that I love the Mini Clubman and I lust after an S version.  Is it any surprise that I spent most of my time here?  Chatting with the reps Mini had there (one super-cute one in particular).  No surprise at all.

Mini, if you’re watching (which I know you do), call me!

Kiss-styled Countryman . . .

Moving on.

The Mini Cooper S Countryman All4 (that’s a mouthful).

I like the Countryman.  It seems more like the vehicle normal people would buy, not so much the fanatical people that tend to buy Minis now.  I also like the way this one in the pic is kitted out.  The dude in the back just broke his back looking at this thing.  Look at that slouch!

I’ll end this post with Scion.

Scion had their usual display with the double stacked car coral or whatever it is called.  It was stocked with their concept and display cars of old.  Many of the same cars you and I have all seen.  I think this is the third year for that display and I must say, I am kind of tired of it.  I mean, I didn’t even take a picture of it this time.  I’ve seen it a million times, in person and in pictures.  Think of something new Scion.  If you can’t let me know and I’ll help you guys.

iQ, how I have missed you!!  I see you are sporting a Hot Lava paint job similar to the xB RS1.  I find this most enticing.  Nicely done iQ, nicely done.

I would have tried to find out more about the “pre-production” iQ but I gave up many years ago with the reps Scion hires.  I have never talked to an autoshow rep from Scion that could actually answer my questions, but if I wanted to know how many climate control knobs the xD has, they can help me there.  I just snap my pics and move on from the Scion booth.  Even as an owner of two Scion vehicles, I am over this.

Speed wing!

Lack of boot space is alarming.  Haha.  Not really though.  It is a city car, this is how they are meant to be.  I can’t wait for the iQ to hit showrooms!  Come on already!  I want to gawk at these in the wild already!

FR-S Concept!  Yum.  Pictures don’t do this thing justice.  It is quite the vehicle to behold with your own eyes.  I love every inch of it.  I know the production model (if it actually happens) will only get bits and pieces from this, but I have a good feeling that it will look stellar.  That is unless Toyota gets their Beige-Colored-Hands on it and waters it down.

Ugh, so nice.  So nice.

Dat is another Ass that I can end the day on!

Dat Ass!!!!!

9 Responses to “OMGP’s NYIAS Experience: Part Deux”


  1. 1 John
    05/07/2011 at 7:22 PM

    Hey just happened across your blog and let me just say that you write like a total faggot. Just post pictures dude don’t bother writing all this teenage-girl drivel. I guess I should’ve expected it from the blog title.

    • 2 BrownBear
      05/07/2011 at 11:29 PM

      I had no idea that gays and lesbians had a specific writing style. Thanks so much for bringing the unique writing style to my attention. Appreciate your concern my good man.
      <3 you too!

    • 05/08/2011 at 3:05 AM

      Great post John! You write like a complete homophobe who suffers from post traumatic stress syndrome likely stemming from a personal attack during your childhood. Just saying…

      I really enjoy this blog BrownBear, keep up the good work.

  2. 05/08/2011 at 3:57 AM

    The internet: Serious Business.

  3. 5 Don "Captain Fail" P.
    05/08/2011 at 4:04 AM

    Way to go John, you have proven to the world, yet again, that little angry kids with no lives, and nothing to do on a Saturday night, can screw up one of the little slices of heaven that the internet has that hasnt resorted to youtube-esq comments of calling everybody faggots. Could you please just leave well enough alone kid? That would be great! Maybe for once turn off the computer, and as much as it hurts you, take a step outside. You might like what you find. Read as, I hope the sun blinds you as you wander into the street infront of a bus!

  4. 6 Don "Captain Fail" P.
    05/08/2011 at 4:08 AM

    Also, I try to add this to every picture of the FRS, as my opinion is just that important to the Scion world. It looks like an RX8 and a Genesis had a child with a Subaru cardiovascular system…

    Ill stick to my Genesis and Scion is def not storming the trenches for a 4th time consumer in me!

  5. 05/08/2011 at 2:30 PM

    “Sebastian Vettel’s F1 car. Infiniti sponsored, Renault powered.”

    What, hey wait? What is this F1 stuff? This doesn’t look like a stock car to me!

  6. 8 RC
    05/08/2011 at 4:56 PM

    Good job John, I hope that comment made you feel fantastic about your ignorance. Get a hobby.

    OMG PANCAKES HAS CHANGED THE CAR BLOG INDUSTRY!!! AWESOME!

  7. 06/08/2011 at 7:30 PM

    Hot Lava and Blizzard Pearl are both going to be stock colors for the iQ! Super excited about that.


Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

