18
Apr
09

Meh, Blotter

I have a few things planned for up coming posts, but I really don’t have anything for today.  So I was thinking what I could post.  Racking my brain for a little while I guess I’ll just do a blotter post today.  

I was stoked because yesterday I finally got a chance to get back on the hog.  Just so you know, by hog I mean my bicycle.  I started riding last semester because it was easier to get around and I need to lose weight so it worked hand-in-hand.  I love riding.  Yeah it is probably weird to see a person my size riding, but I don’t care.  If I cared what people thought about me, my Box wouldn’t look like a crayon box sneezed all over it.  

dsc04114mm

So I went riding yesterday, rode around three to four miles, had a blast.  Rode around Beaver Stadium and around a couple farms, so much fun.  Snapped a couple pics while I was out there.  It was a gorgeous day and I just had to ride.  It is a great way to clear your head and get away form things, while working up a sweat.

If there are any other people that ride or like to read about riding, my favourite bike blog is Bike Snob.  And I was recently informed about a cycling blog that a fellow Scion owner has: Cycling Weapon of Mass Destruction.

I will return to your regularly scheduled programming in a day or so.

9 Responses to “Meh, Blotter”


  1. 1 Rachel
    04/20/2009 at 4:41 PM

    I am sure your hair was blowing in the wind too. :-)

  2. 2 peter
    04/22/2009 at 10:59 PM

    not my style…but then again im not a round hindu :)))) jk jk

  3. 3 rae rae
    01/10/2011 at 7:25 AM

    Since you think you have an opinion ( http://omgpancakes.wordpress.com/2010/09/30/hermmmm/ )
    Can I throw some criticism your way?

    • 4 BrownBear
      01/10/2011 at 7:52 PM

      Sure. I’d like to see where this is going.

      • 5 rae rae
        01/12/2011 at 9:12 PM

        meh meh meh…..

        ….kickstand…..(frame pincher)
        ….reflectors….(even though I’m sure you don’t ride at night)
        ….wide ass gel saddle…..(does more harm then good, i would trade it for some padded shorts)
        ….quick release safety tag….(still attached)
        ….knobby tires…..(maybe slicks would work better, since I’m sure, you do the majority of riding on the road)
        ….Water bottle….(not in the cage)
        ….maybe some yellow paint for the frame, and some red for the wheels…..:)

        Just so you know…..this is all in good fun

        cheers,

        jason

        • 6 BrownBear
          01/12/2011 at 9:28 PM

          Yeah, this bike is a piece of doo-doo. I know, trust me.

          I mainly use it to commute to class, around town, and take it out to the trails in the summer. Plus that post is over a year and half old. Broke college kids ftw! Saving up for a much better hardtail this summer.

          Can you recommend a saddle?

          Also, I have definitely changed my stance on fixes/SS bikes. I love the looks of them now.

          • 7 rae rae
            01/12/2011 at 9:43 PM

            Definitely good for campus….I would go with a Specialized saddle, anything for mountain bike. Specialized dealers have a fit chart that you sit, and it measure the width of your pelvic bone…..definitely nice.

            And if you’re looking for comfort, I would grab a pair of padded shorts or bibs you can ear underneath your regular shorts, and some chamois cream…Chafing SUCKS!

            if it’s not “fixed” is “broken”

            Have you seen the Trek belt drive bikes?

          • 8 BrownBear
            01/13/2011 at 2:25 AM

            One of my LBS is a Specialized dealer, I will have to go see them when time comes for the new hog. Interestingly enough, I was looking for a Specialized hardtail for the new bike. The current bike is basically holding me over until I can afford better.

            I saw those bikes but did not even notice they were belt driven until you said it. Damn.

            I def love me some fixie action.

            I wish it weren’t snowing so I could still ride.

  4. 01/13/2011 at 5:11 PM

    Hi, I trust everyone, in case you arrived at Romania you have a light beer out of me: ) Kind regards!


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

