18
Mar
09

Interesting…

My pops used to have an ’89 Corolla Wagon back when I was in elementary school and high school.  Thing was a pile, but it was our pile, hard to explain.  We really didn’t care about it and my pops would joke about whether it would start today.  My pops was afraid to turn off the all-trac because he wasn’t sure if it would turn back on.  It would shake at stop lights, acting as a make shift massage.  I remember when I blew serious chunks one day in that thing.  Needless to say, I stayed home from school that day; good times.  It had all kinds of dents from people hitting it and my pops not really caring.  The thing was a mess, just such a pile.

I remember one time my freshman year of high school.  My pops was driving me to the school so I could go to my football game.  I had to be there by like 10am so I could catch the bus.  Something like two or three miles away from school, the Corolla just cuts out on us.  My pops pulls over and tries to get the Corolla going again, to no avail.  Back then I was not as knowledgeable as I am now about cars and my pops doesn’t know much even today, so we were dumbfounded as to what happened.  It wouldn’t turn over, not even a hick-up, we later found out it was the fuel pump.  Well we sat there for a while because we didn’t have cell phones then.  We tried pushing it but it was uphill and I was a weak little fat kid.  Eventually some dude in a taxi rolls up and helps us push the Corolla into a parking lot so we aren’t next to the road.  We had to walk half a mile to the pay phone and called a tow truck.  The phone was at a diner, I was hungry, but we didn’t eat.  There’s the fat kid coming out of me again.  As we were waiting for the tow truck I see the bus carrying the football team roll by.  That didn’t feel good.  It took forever for me to live that down with my teammates.  They were convinced I just skipped the game, they wouldn’t believe me, jerks.  I had to sit on a few of them to make them “believe.”  Ah, the good ol’ days.

Coming from my previous experience with a Corolla Wagon, you can imagine the look of intrigue on my face when I stumbled upon this:

pimperish

I never, ever thought I would see a late 80’s – early 90’s Corolla Wagon rocking SSR MK-II’s.  I never thought I would see a slammed and flared out Corolla Wagon.  This thing kind of blows my mind.  My first thoughts were, “why?”  Then it sunk in how cool this is and how cool it could become.  I can imagine how awesome one of these would look, “hood-ride” style, slammed with a set or Work Equips or SSR MK’s.  Or just restored and slammed on some sexy wheels with a fat lip.  Imagine if these babies started popping up on the scene, I wonder what their reception would be.

I am so intrigued by this Corolla and what an old Corolla Wagon could become.  My mind is racing.  Future project maybe?  Hm?  We’ll see…

What are your thoughts on this?

5 Responses to “Interesting…”


  1. 1 Rachel
    03/20/2009 at 11:52 AM

    I feel like I know this man you refer to as “pops”…hmmm.

  2. 2 petros
    03/25/2009 at 7:45 PM

    holy awesome fitted wheels!

  3. 04/05/2009 at 8:10 PM

    Check out http://sift.jp
    Think this is the car you have posted the image of. I own the four door version. Mines a 1986 CE71 Corolla also known as a CE73 and probably other chassis codes.

  4. 4 bighindu
    04/06/2009 at 12:28 PM

    I’m not sure it’s the same Corolla, but they are very similar and that one is friggin’ awesome. They very well could be the same car. Thank you for posting that up.

    Got a pic of yours?

  5. 5 JAY48
    01/24/2012 at 10:49 AM

    My family has a KE72 wagon in original stock condition. I have a lot of things planned for it when I start earning! I’m thinking SSR longchamps & a sports suspension lowered as low as it can go….MMMMM!


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

